About Us

Illinois Coalition for Educating At-Risk Youth

The mission of the corporation is to advocate for students, train educators, educate communities and unify programming to provide opportunities for at- risk youth and community partners.

Region 4

1/11/2017

John A. Logan College, Carterville, IL

4:00pm – 5:00pm

Contact: Crystal Hosselton – crystalhosselton@jalc.edu – 618-985-3741 ex. 8349

ICEARY Region 4 Meeting

1/12/2017

Walker’s Bluff Vineyard

356 Vermont Road

Carpenterville, IL 62918

4PM-6PM

 

ICEARY Committees

Building Advocacy

We will advocate on behelf of our students and programs and provide professional development to train others in the skills of advocacy.

Advocacy shall have the following responsibilities:

  1. to develop and evaluate legislation affecting at-risk youth;
  2. to organize and maintain the student legislative action team;
  3. to inform the membership regarding impending legislation, possible impact and options to inform legislators; and
  4. to perform such other duties as are required by the Board of Directors.

Committee Chair

Harold Sweeny – hsweeney@kidsroe.org

Building Communities

We will provide opportunities to build awareness of support for the needs of our students and programs.

Communities shall have the following responsibilities:

  1. to develop membership recruitment strategies;
  2. to maintain membership list;
  3. to organize regional meetings;
  4. to coordinate and facilitate participation of other committees at the regional meetings; and
  5. to perform such other duties as required by the Board of Directors.

Committee Chair

Kari Glenn – kglenn@kaneroe.org

Building Professionals

We will provide professional development opportunities to support the professional growth of our members.

Professional Development shall have the following responsibilities:

  1. to make all preparations and provisions for the corporation’s Annual Conference, per direction of the “Conference Chair”, which will be appointed by the Board of Directors and attend Board meetings
  2.  to prepare programs, in-services, training, workshops, seminars, Conferences, etc. for Corporation meetings and submit to Board of Directors for approval;
  3. to serve as the credentials committee at the annual business meeting;
  4. to regularly update the website with professional development resources and opportunities; and
  5. to perform such other duties as required by the Board of Directors.

Committee Co-Chairs

Julie Wollerman – juliewollerman@roe3.org

Kari Docherty – kdocherty@roe25.net

Building Connections

We will build networks to support the mission of ICEARY.

Networking shall have the following responsibilities:

  1. to explore internal and external communication avenues between general membership and Board of Directors;
  2. to have a standing member attend regular meetings of (IARSS, IPA, IACEA, IJJC) as a representative of ICEARY
  3. to produce a newsletter and regularly update the website – at the discretion of the Board of Directors; and
  4. to perform such other duties as required by the Board of Directors.

Committee Co-Chairs

Crystal Hosselton – crystalhosselton@jalc.edu

Gina Simpkins – ginasimpkins@jalc.edu

Mark Klaisner – mklaisner@west40.org

Karen Tiemann – ktiemann@west40.org